Foreign Affairs

Criteria for Recognition
The Principality of Kaharagia was founded along the lines of the declarative theory of statehood, meaning that if the state exists then it is a sovereign subject of international law. Though the Principality of Kaharagia does not yet maintain formal territory we do follow the standard principles of the declarative theory of statehood:

  1. a defined territory
  2. a permanent population
  3. a government
  4. capacity to enter relations with other nations or states

Recognized Entities
The Principality of Kaharagia recognizes the following entities as sovereign subjects of international law: 

  • 191 Members of the United Nations (Saudi Arabia is excluded)1
  • Republic of South Ossetia2
  • Republic of Abkhazia2
  • Republic of Artsakh2
  • Nation of Hawaii3
  • The Holy See1
  • Sovereign Military Order of Malta2
  • State of Palestine1
  • Pridnestrovian Moldavian Republic2
  • Republic of Somaliland2

Sovereign Citizen Movements
The Principality of Kaharagia rejects the idea of “sovereign citizens” and considers them to be criminals who don’t want to respect the rule of law. The Principality of Kaharagia implores its citizens to follow the laws of the place they reside, also citizens and foreigners alike follow Kaharagian law when on Kaharagian soil.

Regarding former Sovereigns
Following international conventions, a former sovereign who is no longer reigning (like the late King Mihai of Romania or King Constantine II of the Hellenes) is afforded the same protocol as before their reign ended. Similarly, former sovereign houses and their heads are afforded similar statuses.

Regarding “Micronations”
The Principality of Kaharagia does not engage in relations with role-playing entities called “micronations” which pretend countries that emulate nations/states but have no intention of being an international actor. We ask that “micronations” please refrain from contacting us.

Contacting the Kaharagian Foreign Office
The Foreign Office can be reached by emailing or by letter to the address on the contact page. 

[1] Sovereign Ordinance No. 3 of 15 December 2016
[2] Sovereign Ordinance No. 4 of 15 December 2016
[3] Sovereign Ordinance No. 13 of 18 February 2017

Comments are closed.